The New Thing... 9:41 a.m. 2003-09-08

Current Listening: Pagan Babies by Elmore Leonard
Current Reading:Diary of an American Au Pair by Marjorie Leet Ford
Recipe of the Day: Olive Salad, Muffaletta Sandwich, Muffaletta Pasta Salad and more!
Daily Quote: Sparky Pilastry: I want you to think of what you ate today. Got it? Now cut that in half, this is called a diet, people, everyone start one today! Darcy, you should stop eating. You see, when you skip a meal, your body feeds off its fat stores. And if you skip enough, maybe your body will eat your ass! - Bring It On

As you may have noticed, I have a new feature to my daily log - The Daily Quote! At the moment, they are movie quotes, but I may slip in a literary quote when I can find them! Last night, while searching obsessively for quotes from the movie, Shirley Valentine, I came across this website. It has some great quotes, including:

Kit Ramsey: White boys always get the Oscar. It's a known fact. Did I ever get a nomination? No! You know why? Cause I hadn't played any of them slave roles, and get my ass whipped. That's how you get the nomination. A black dude who plays a slave that gets his ass whipped gets the nomination, a white guy who plays an idiot gets the Oscar. That's what I need, I need to play a retarded slave, then I'll get the Oscar. - Bowfinger

Lucille: I'm not shooting for a "successful" relationship at this point, I'm just looking for something that will prevent me from throwing myself in front of a bus. I'm keeping my expectations very very low. - Bye, Bye Love

David St. Hubbins: It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever. - This is Spinal Tap

Amber Cole: Thank God for the model trains, because if it wasn't for those they wouldn't have got the idea for the big trains. - A Mighty Wind

Go there - it's a lot of fun. I actually found more quotes last night than I am right now. I must be tired... It was also easier to come up with movies, with my movie collection close to hand.

This is a day when I definitely do not want to be in school. I am not with it! I don't want to talk to students - at all. i just want to sit in my little computer cocoon, blogging away! First period just went by, and I didn't do everything I had planned. I don't know if it's the shorter blocks, or the low level of many of my students, or the stress from the situation at home, but I can't seem to get my act together. I can somehow manage to whip up a Cultural Diversity Newsletter - but that's about it. I have decisions to make about placing people, thank you notes to write, lesson plans to make, grades to pull out of my nose... It's just not coming together smoothly.

One thing I can do that may help is to try to pull together my class lists. I have been told by Pam, the chief ESOL teacher, that I can organize and place my students in 3 classes, according to their level of Intermediacy (in other words, this may be my first year teaching Special Ed. ESOL...), but now I am balking, because I want to get the grouping "just right." I know that the Asst. Principal in charge of scheduling is not happy about having to do this, so I will have to work with the groups I decide on now for the rest of the semester, at least. I will give it some thought today.

As for grades, everyone is getting an A. For right now... Well, except for one girl who has already missed 11 days of school - she shouldn't get an A.

No resolution yet in my husband's situation. He is going to talk to the lawyer, and see if this is the day he needs to go and resign. He has also put in a resume to a Macintosh repair place, and he is going to touch base with them. I just would like to see what the good is that's supposed to come out of this situation.

Last night, I finally got the daughter of my riding instructor on the phone. I was worried about her, since I had not heard from her in a while. She has been on the road. I even received a picture of my pony and her on a trail ride with a buddy. It made me happy. I haven't ridden in about a year and a half, and I don't know when I will, now. I could offer myself up as stable labor in exchange for lessons again, but I just don't have the energy. Maybe I can summon it up, somehow. I saw a Nature special on Horse and Rider last night, and it made me a little nostalgic for my horsy days.

So, aside from the movie quotes, this is not a very cheery entry. Hopefully, those will come again soon.

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003