Dog Vomit 11:29 a.m. 2004-08-27

I am home today - my dog has been throwing up and it has been going on for several days. I visited the Duluth Petsmart and decided to go ahead and move my Banfield Health Plan account to there. I spent an hour and a half there this morning, even though it really looks like she is getting better.

I fed her last night (don't tell my husband - he has been traumatized by the dog vomit!) and she kept it down. But, just to be safe, she is on antibiotics and other stuff - mainly because I discovered her eating old crawfish carcasses dumped at the edge of our communal yard.

Now, where could crawfish have come from? Hmmmmm.... The only way I can think of was a possible dump by my dad, who came from Louisiana. I haven't mentioned it to him - he was already falsely accused of breaking our garage door opener by my husband. I didn't want to traumatize him any more. After all, Dad did work all weekend to put in my new brick patio downstairs!

I am happy to have a day off - I have done quite a bit for school maintenance, but I still have more to do. The house, however, and my art projects, have been sorely neglected. Last night, my husband and I went out to eat at Frontera Mex-Mex and it was really good. I had one of my favorite dishes, chilaquiles, and a margarita.

When I got home, I worked on a new project while my husband flipped through the available TV channels (we don't have cable, so the choices are limited). I am currently making a deck of cards. I have seen lots of self-made Tarot decks, and am a great admirer of the Oracle cards on the Free Will Astrology website, so I have been hankering to make some sort of deck of my own. Oh, and don't forget Cheryl Richardson's affirmation deck!

I have commandeered an old I-Ching deck that my mother gave me, and am collaging images on one side of them. I will either find one pretty paper to put on the back, or paper and a word on the back. I don't know yet. I think that there are 79 cards, and I have completed some of them and am working on others, so that should keep me occupied for a while.

I also will do some mandatory cleaning. The house is a mess!

I have had a lot of thoughts about folk art lately. I have hauled a big white elephant plant stand into my classroom and hope to interest my students in creating art by transforming it. I am stressing the idea of making something out of nothing - art!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003