Includes a recipe for Trifle! 12:12 p.m. 2006-03-06

I have new E-Bay auctions up! I spent a lot of time sleeping and playing around with images - but last night I got up some steam and put up some auctions, including three large prints from my Loteria series. I put up La Luna con Milagros, El Corazon con Jaras, and one of my favorites - maybe THE favorite: El Nopal con Bandera. I cannot link to the actual auctions (because of the vicious firewall), but if you go to my E-Bay auctions summary you can see them!

So, here's the deal: I have put a starting bid of $24.99 on E-Bay, but it is less on the website. I figure that it is worth more this way, because I will sign and number the ones that pass through my hands... I will also keep records - and maybe include a little certificate of authenticity. I will just have to see how it works out. At the very least, the auctions will direct people to my CafePress Store!

Another thing I did this weekend was to cook. I promised to make a dessert for a charity lunch at school today, and I decided to make trifle. I had already made and given out all of my super Italian Sausage and Roast Vegetable Spaghetti Sauce, so I was in the mood for dessert. I chose trifle, because I hadn't used my trifle bowl in a while. Here is my recipe:

Celeste's Fabulous Berry Trifle

Cake - One box yellow or white cake mix. Prepare according to directions, except that you should substitute whole milk for water, melted butter for oil, and keep the eggs whole, even if it is a white cake mix. I also added one cup of ground almonds, which gave a nice texture to the cake. I cooked the layers in round pans, like usual, and left them overnight to cool.

Pudding - 2 large boxes of vanilla pudding (6 servings). I like the Cook and Serve pudding for the custard. Follow the directions for cooking on stove top - use whole milk. Set aside to cool.

Fruit - 2 containers (1 pound) of frozen strawberries, and two bags of frozen blueberries. Thaw out the bags and put them in a microwaveable container, like a casserole. Add 1 cup of Strawberry Nectar (Jumex, a Mexican brand, had it in cans) and 1/2 cup of Kirschwasser (cherry brandy). Rum will also do. Add a couple of tablespoons of corn starch as a thickener. Cook the fruit mixture on high until the alcohol burns off. (You can also do this on the stovetop). You are going for fair amount of liquid, but not soup. Set aside to cool

Now, assemble the trifle. cut the cake into strips or cubes and line the bottom of your trifle dish (or any clear sided bowl about 6-8" deep) with cake. Spoon the berry mixture over the cake layer - smooth this out with a spoon, and make sure it gets to the outside edges. Then, spoon a layer of pudding over the berries. You should be able to repeat this three times. I finish off with a layer of berries to the edge, then a pool of pudding in the center. I sprinkled ground almond and crumbled cake on top for garnish. You may want to add four spritzes of whipping cream or a pretty sliced strawberry to garnish.

Voila! I would have put this on my old recipe site at Blogger, but the school firewall won't let me go there. Damn them!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003