Creative Inspirations 5:16 p.m. 2006-01-22

I have new E-Bay auctions up! I have also placed a lot more of my art up on CafePress.com - including two 12-month calendars. I am going to add links to all of my collages and two more of my valentines on Maison Celeste.com. The links to the calendars are:
My Valentines and Collage Calendar.

Okay, I have been wanting to include some really cool website links lately. I am a big fan of Kathy Cano Murillo - aka The Crafty Chica - and am now downloading her podcasts. My hubby is going to burn them to a CD so that I can listen to them on the way to and from work! I just pre-ordered her new book, called Art de la Soul, and I cannot wait!

On her most recent podcasts has a great project: The Resolution Collage Calendar. I am already on the lookout for on-sale 2006 calendars to use. I have a vision of my own calendar - which I will keep a secret right now because the image that I want to project is sooooo ambitious that it makes me shy.

But I brainstormed another idea just the other day with some of my students! I have "segregated" my students - pretty much having three classes of Latino students, and now, one class with Asian students. In that class, I have one Korean, one Hindu Indian, and one Muslim Indian. I am going to plan a project for them to do involving this concept of the Collage Calendar. I have to think it out a bit (and find some calendars!), but it will involve devoting pages to different aspects of the student's culture. They will also need to place important holidays on the calendar part. There needs to be a writing component, as well, which will probably be a paragraph describing each month's focus.

Isn't that cool!!!!

Oh - and you may ask why I am dividing my classes by culture? I was pondering what I want to use as projects for the rest of the year. Let's see... I will be covering bullfighting (not very fun for cow-worshipers...), and two or three books with Hispanic themes. It is a delicate balancing act - teaching to all cultures. I figured that my Asian students are tired of hearing about Mexicans... So, this is an experiment.

I am a big fan of Cheryl Richardson, who seems to be the most prominent Life Coach of the moment. But I am becoming more and more aware of other coaches that are online. I found out about Nancy Marmolejo of Comadre Coaching. She has a great website with her own podcast, and one day, I will be able to afford her! My most recent favorite - timely, too - is her Dinero Toolkit, which has some great strategies for creative people who have problems with money.

I have been really taking it easy the past two days. I am sure that my strep throat is about done, but I am taking one more day off of school to make sure. I am getting a rental car tomorrow, so I won't feel as tied to the home place - not that this has been bad!

I really, really want something sweet right now. My husband is in bed, and I don't know how to drive his car, which has a stick shift and a sticky steering column. I could walk to the QuikTrip. It's really sad when the only thing you have available to make something sweet (that I'm aware of...) is pudding mix, jello, canned fruit, and jam. OH - and Raisin Bran. I have already done a Google Search for raisin bran muffins. Isn't that pitiful?

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003