NYC - Catching up! 5:39 p.m. 2005-04-10

Check out my E-Bay Auctions! Tonight, I will be experimenting with some new items I found to auction. I have been very busy!!!

Okay, so I kind of petered out on my NYC blogging...and I have hit the ground running since I've been back - paying for the trip to NYC!!!

High points:

Touring Central Park - We actually were there when This Photo Shoot was going on! Holy pooping pastel pachyderms, Batman!!! We missed the Christo gates, but got in on some Japanese pop art!

Spamalot- Apparently, I scored a coup by purchasing tickets before the play debuted on Broadway. Word has it that the thing is sold out for the next 6 months! We also saw Harvey Korman and Tim Conway in the audience.

Restaurants: We really enjoyed our meal at Joe's Shanghai in Chinatown. Their specialty is soup dumplings. They also have "community tables" - even for tables of four! I learned the secret of eating the soup dumplings and got hints of what to order from the two Chinese gentleman that shared our table first, and then my husband and I talked to two intellectual types during their seating. Fun!

Before the theatre, our friends treated us to a dinner at Becco, owned by a chef that I know nothing about. Her name is Lidia Bastianich, and there is a link to her site, including recipes. I had a glass of prosecco, a sparkling Italian wine, and a caesar salad that was shared with the table. For dinner, I had an assortment of the vegetable dishes, which included a wonderful rapini, delicious mushrooms, and great roasted carrots and parsnips.

Dessert: Mississippi Mudd Cake from Fluffy's Bakery (they have it catered - I want the recipe: it has a thin layer of chocolate crust on the bottom, then there's a layer of chocolate mousse, THEN comes the chocolate cake, topped by a fudgy icing) To die for! I also enjoyed the bread pudding at Zarela.

Cultural Jaunts: People I know will be shocked and appalled to learn that I am not crazy about museums. This time out, we did not go to any museums, but did go into the gift shops of the Folk Art Museum and the Crafts Museum. We also walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and took a boat to see the Statue of Liberty.

The Weather: Although it was cloudy and cold our first night there, and we did get rained on Thursday night, the weather was fabulous: sunny and warm. Our New York friends told us that it was the first real spring weather they had had yet! Lucky us!

More later!!!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003