End of the drought and frost! 9:04 p.m. 2005-01-30

Check out my E-Bay Auctions. I have mostly Loteria stuff up - I haven't finished my latest shrines and photographed them yet. This week, I promise!!!

Today was the beginning of the THAW - okay, it's pretty much all thawed out where I am, so that means school tomorrow. Everyone reminds me that I took Friday off, but one can still hope! And I am not at all sure of what I plan to do tomorrow. Ah, I'll figure it out!

I also found out that my paycheck had FINALLY been deposited. So, I proceeded to spend my money like middle-class trash: I paid for the VHS tape of "The Summer of My German Soldier" I bid for on E-Bay. I then went to Amazon.com and bought four books: Walking in This World: The Practical Art of Creativity by Julia Cameron, Supplies: A Troubleshooting Guide for Creative Difficulties also by Julia Cameron, The Basic Guide to Selling Arts & Crafts and The Basic Guide to Selling Crafts on the Internet - both by James Dillehay. I am currently reading his The Basic Guide to Pricing Your Craftwork, and it is very helpful.

Then, this afternoon I left the house to make a WalMart run: apparently, everyone else in the world had the same idea! I purchased floss, haircolor (I'm going back to dark roots instead of reddish ones for the time being), a new hairbrush, a make-up mirror and toothbrush for school, and I also bought an extra water bottle dispenser for the dog. I am going to place it by the toilet upstairs so that she doesn't drink out of the toilet!

I was very excited that I went to the toothcare aisle in WalMart. I could not believe my eyes when I espied the trademark packaging of Dr. Tichenor's toothpaste!!!! My mother and I are addicted to that stuff - no other toothpaste has a genuinely clean pepperment taste! I bought four tubes: one to replace the one I swiped from my mother, one for school, and two for backups at home! Yay!

This afternoon, I folded the clothes that have been laying around after the last washing, and put together three more loads to wash. Hopefully, those will get folded in good time as well! While doing this, I watched Disk 3 of Six Feet Under. One more to go to make it through the first season.

I recently came upon a book that I really liked, and as with all books that I like, I decided that I wanted to share it with my students. It's called The Girl Who Owned a City by O. T. Nelson. Here is the publisher's description:

A killing virus has swept the earth, sparing only children through the age of twelve. There is chaos everywhere, even in formely prosperous mid-America. Gangs and fierce armies of children begin to form almost immediately. It would be the same for the children on Grand Avenue but for Lisa, a yen-year-old girl who becomes their leader. Because of Lisa, they have food, even toys, in abundance. And now they can protect themselves from the fierce gangs that roam the neighborhoods. But for how long? Then Lisa conceives the idea of a fortress, a city in which the children could live safely and happily always, and she intends to lead them there.

In particular, each part starts with a really good quote from the book - I will share them later because I am too lazy right now to go downstairs and get the book and then to transcribe them!

Well, my point - and I do have one - is that the author's bio in the paperback refers to O. T. (Terry) Nelson as a model of the Libertarian philosopy at work. And this book is listed in the Libertarian Bibliography of Children's Literature - along with The Little Red Hen! I didn't know I was a Libertarian!!! Wow! I must come by it naturally: my dad never did like paying taxes! ;-)

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003