Looking forward to MLK Weekend! 8:50 a.m. 2005-01-14

Check out my E-Bay Auctions.

I have all sorts of Loteria items, shrines, story boxes, framed Blue Dog cards - even things for crafters to use!

Yesterday was a long day from hell! I arrived to school and left my class with my assistant to attend yet another "collaborative planning session" with another 8th grade team. When I arrived, they didn't even expect me - they asked if I was "subbing" for the Spanish teacher. The good news was that I got a free bagel, and when the Spanish teacher did arrive, I let her "take over" and got back some of my planning time.

I then skipped the book on tape for my classes and gave a practice test for the MGWA (Middle Grades Writing Assessment). I read a sample story on responsibility and then had them work individually - and silently. Bliss! Especially since it is what I am supposed to be doing - the test is next Wednesday! I am getting better about giving feedback and am trying to clarify - even for myself - what is needed in an essay. It is so hard to remember when I couldn't write an essay that I have a hard time empathizing with people who have never done it!

After school, I had to stay for an ESOL meeting - thank goodness everyone had to meet just two rooms down from me. There were people from the Academy and the High School there as well. I decided to maximize my time, and to mention some of the things that were worrying me.

I asked about the deal with Writers Workshop. I was told at the beginning of the year that all ESOL teachers would be required to be trained in this method of teaching writing, and I did try to attend. But I did not finish the course. I know that it was partly the stress of the beginning of the year, but it also was a passive-aggressive protest at the haphazard, cover-your-ass format in which the course was presented: Hey, guess what? We just decided that you need to do this - NOW!

Homie don't play that....Show me that you have a sane, rational, calm plan and vision of the future, and then I can decide if I choose that or not!

I also found out that I might be required to get full certification in Language Arts - which may or may not include college time and/or taking the Praxis. Now, I am pretty confident about my English abilities (after all, I am the gal who, in high school, accidentally took the English 4 Rally test when I was supposed to take the English 2 - and actually placed 4th!) - but it's been a while since I was tested on the nit-picky things!

The reason for this NEW expectation - which the High School teachers have already been told to do - is that I am teaching a Language Arts and Reading course that counts for credit. I have learned that all of the International Academy teachers are having to add Social Studies and Science certifications to their credentials. What a pain! It may be that my English minor will suffice - but God knows now.

Last night, I got home at 6:30 and rested - I got a Burger King RanchBurger on the way home. I listened to my current book on tape - The Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene. I forgot how much I love that book. If you haven't read it, do so now! I am thinking about making it my next classroom book.

When I got home, I took it easy - I laid on the couch and watched sitcoms for a while. Then, I decided to work on a collage I started a couple of months ago - it is really bright and fun. I hope to finish it tonight. However, despite my best intentions, I didn't get to bed until midnight.

Today, back to normal - then a 3-day weekend! Yay!!!! I will make a mail run tomorrow, and maybe visit a friend that just moved on Sunday. She is from Brazil and her son was one of the brightest students I've had. However, he is thinking about dropping out of school because he wants to earn money now. With the help of other teachers and a wise Brazilian friend, I hope to at least get him through high school.

I also want to finish the rest of my Blue Dog and Guadalupe Shrines and put them up on E-Bay on Sunday. I didn't do any crafting last weekend, and hope to make that up - and actually watch the two disc of Six Feet Under I ordered from NetFlix.

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003