First Try at Selling My Wares 11:09 a.m. 2004-03-30

Current Listening: Bridget Jones' Diary by Helen Fielding and Alice Alone by Amanda Brookfield
Current Reading: La Casa Loca and Making Shrines and Altars by Kathy Cano Murillo
Recipes of the Day: Menu and Recipes for Build a Taco Party!

I have been very busy and have just returned from a quick trip to visit my sister in Covington, Louisiana. There, I participated - along with my father and much of my sister's in-laws - in the Abita Springs Whole Town Garage Sale & Flea Market I sold my shabby chic frames, my Teresa Villegas' Nueva Loteria Games, my mini loteria games, and my coasters. I also had some of the hammered tin frames I purchased in bulk, and some lovely paper mache bells that I repainted and decoupaged for Easter. See, I happened to remember that, in France, there is no Easter Bunny. Instead, there are the cloches volantes - flying bells. There is a great article by Susan Hermann Loomis called Bells and Fishes that explains more. I filled some of the bells with Hershey's Kisses and wrapped them up in cellophane - they looked so cute!

I was not a huge success - I decided that my crowd would more likely be an arts festival crowd. I did sell a lot of mini-loteria games and coasters and bells to small children! That was fun. I also sold 3 shabby chic frames at one time to an artsy type from New Orleans. It was a good learning experience!

I also stopped by a Pottery and Iron store in Diamondhead, Mississippi and showed the owner my wares. Don't know what will come of that! I was unable to contact the owner of Mi Casa in Covington, where I have some of my items on sale. She hasn't returned any of my calls. I don't think that's a good sign...

I got back on Sunday Night, and had already planned to take Monday off for a day of rest after all of the activity.

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003