Friday Five and Valentines Weekend 1:59 p.m. 2004-02-14

Current Listening: Bitterroot by James Lee Burke
Current Reading: Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain
Recipe of the Day: Roast Chicken, Roasted Root Vegetables, Baked Apples with Dried Fruit
Check out my Valentines

1. Are you superstitious?

I don't think so. I mean, the only possible sign of that would be my unwillingness to count on good things continuing. I feel like it "jinxes" things... Also, when faced with a crisis, I often spend time visualizing "worst case scenarios." I used to think that, if I could conceive of it, it wouldn't happen. I think that this is because most tragedies are inconceivable!

2. What extremes have you heard of someone going to in the name of superstition?

I don't know - these days, if you avoid cracks, because of the old "step on a crack, break your mother's back" adage, then you have Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder!

3. Believer or not, what's your favorite superstition?

I usually throw a pinch of salt over my shoulder if a salt shaker gets knocked over.

4. Do you believe in luck? If yes, do you have a lucky number/article of clothing/ritual?

I guess I do. I often make a wish when a digital clock registers 12:34. I don't know why - I think I made that one up!

5. Do you believe in astrology? Why or why not?

Oh, yes, I pretty much do! I have already written an entry on that, called Gimmee a Sign!

Last night, I met my husband downtown to see Mandy Patinkin at the Rialto - he was great. He sang Sondheim for 90 minutes straight without a break or intermission. It was my husband's idea. We ate afterward at the Landmark Diner - it was very good! We were going to go see a band named Wheat down the street at the Cotton Club, but we missed them because we stopped to eat. How were we to know that they would be on time? We did buy a CD and I bought a t-shirt for my hubby.

I am soooo happy about having a three-day weekend! Tonight, we are going out to eat at Kyma - I'll write about it tomorrow!

I have spent some time this week re-doing my website. I downloaded a bunch of HTML and Color cheatsheets to make the change. I am using one of my favorite Valentine creations, called Loteria - I have even made a quick and dirty banner and submitted it to Diaryland. I still have to work on some artwork for my Archives pages, and to tweak my Guestbook, but I really like the new look. I loved my yellow and red, but more people will probably find this easier to read!

Check out my Valentines - send an e-card to a loved one!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003