Mardi Gras! 2:39 p.m. 2004-01-30

Current Listening: Big City Eyes by Delia Ephron
Current Reading: Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain
Recipe of the Day: Lemonade Caipirinhas, Kir aux Murs
Check out my Valentines

I am home, sick. Yes, again! The night before last, what I thought was withdrawal from Claritin was actually the beginnings of a sinus infection! I had a fever and a sore throat. I always think that I am coming down with strep throat, but that's just the post-nasal drip talking!

I got up yesterday morning and called the principal who is in charge of substitutes. I told him that I would go in for first and second period if he could get someone for the other half of the day. He said it was hard to get a half-day sub, so he would go ahead and get one for the whole day.

I still went in and showed the sub what to do - I had her administer the listening test, and read the next two chapters of the book my students are reading. Then, I packed my stuff up and headed out. I ran into a colleague who promised to hook me up with a video for the next day.

I had about an hour to kill before my doctor's office opened, so I drove around, and found a Goodwill drop-off for my old clothes. I then went to IHOP and ate eggs, sausage, grits and two pancakes with syrup. Is it starve a cold and feed a fever?

The doctor's visit took about an hour, and then I headed to the pharmacy to load up on antibiotics. I am now taking Claritin again, along with two antibiotic pills in the morning and a decongestant, along with my regular meds. I feel too young to be taking so many pills!

I happened to stop by the Pier One clearance store (it's on my way home!!!) to look for cushions for my fantastic new fleur de lis kitchen chairs. Instead, I purchased an iron over-the-toilet shelving thing - it took a half hour to get it into my car! To my disappointment, I don't think it will go into the bathroom I wanted it to, but it will go somewhere. I love my house, but there was a dearth of storage when we moved in here. I am working on adding to it.

I got home at around 11:30 AM, and collapsed into bed until 3:30. I am feeling better now, but I always have to adjust to taking antibiotics. I have a lady coming by this afternoon to give me a quote on cleaning my house. I got up early this morning, planning on doing some cleaning and throwing away.

Instead, I finally got the t-shirt design for my sister's husband's family's Mardi Gras celebration done. I love it - on the back, there is a background of dark yellow fleur de lis. In the the foreground is a colorful rooster with a crown, holding a string of Mardi Gras beads in his beak. It says, "The early bird catches the beads!" On the front, there are three smaller black and white images - a rooster, a crown and a fleur de lis, with the slogan of their family Mardi Gras: Laissez les bons temps rouler!

I forwarded it to my sister, and am waiting to see how she likes it. I may have to send the original to the silk-screeners, as I am not sure how it will enlarge. I really need to hone my Photoshop skills. At the moment, I am a cutter/paster/scanner. It's just easier!

That's all for now!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003