Good times 10:14 a.m. 2003-10-22

Current Listening: The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
Current Reading: Julie by Jean Craighead George
Recipe of the Day: Curried Vegetable Stew, Burritos de lengua en salsa verde, Crockpot Rum Croissant Bread Pudding

I am downsizing a bit. I liked the Daily Quote, but it became a challenge at times to come up with a quote - a little counterproductive to the idea of daily writing! I also am amused by the IMood icon, but can do without that as well. I am toying with the idea of changing my template, but haven't done so, as that would require diving back into my HTML book for a refresher course!

I spent some time this morning, perusing Blogger templates for my NaNoWriMo blog, The Real World: Angers. Of course, this is a lot more fun than:
-finishing my lesson plans
-cleaning up my classroom
-planning what I am going to write for NaNoWriMo
-calling the furniture place to find out if they are going to trade out the piece I bought
-calling the neighbor association to find out the deal about the repaint
-anything else...

I decided to go see Intolerable Cruelty last night. Man, there were surprisingly many people at the Regal 24 when I got there! The line for the concession stand seemed to take forever! Thankfully, I actually was early - as opposed to cutting it close like I usually do. After making my server re-scoop my popcorn (I saw him take an already packed bag and sprinkle fresh kernels on top - the bag was obviously old popcorn, as the few kernels I had were stale...), I still only ate half of it - it is usually good.

The movie was okay. I guess that I had already heard a bit about it, so it wasn't fresh as it would have been last week. There were some funny bits, and Catherine Zeta-Jones was stunning, but it was not fantastic. At least I didn't predict the ending! I thought that George Clooney was doing a pretty good Cary Grant, too. It was good to see Julia Duffy (of Newhart fame) in a movie - she played a rich divorcee with a peptic ulcer!

The night before last, my husband made dinner! For the first time ever! He just decided to do it. He made sauteed salmon, veggies stir-fried in the same seasonings as the salmon, and baked a frozen spanakopita I had in the freezer. It was very thoughtful! We also spent a lot of time vaccuuming the house. This needed to be done very badly. We moved the huge Oriental carpet from the living room to the dining room. It is still very large. We are going to try it there for a while.

Tonight, my husband is going to see Rick Wakeman (I think he was in YES - I'm right!) perform tonight. I was supposed to go with him, but I have not been sleeping too well this week - waking up at 3 and 4 in the morning to cough for a while! He is going with a friend, and I may go and meet my mom and aunt for dinner and ice cream. As it is, he is taking me out on Friday night, to eat at Sala and to see the Ballet Gran Folklorico de Mexico!

This has been a pretty good week, despite the coughing! I have had two days so far without snapping at my students. Yesterday, my KSU intern came, and we worked with the kids in the computer lab. They had a great time adding pictures to their "My Autobiography" projects! That was good!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003