Kill Quentin 9:06 a.m. 2003-10-15

Current Listening: Jesse by Gary Soto
Current Reading: Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews
Recipe of the Day: Curried Vegetable Stew, Burritos de lengua en salsa verde, Crockpot Rum Croissant Bread Pudding
Current Mood: The current mood of tiedyefor@mindspring.com at www.imood.com
Daily Quote:
The Bride: It was not my intention to do this in front of you. For that I'm sorry. But you can take my word for it, your mother had it coming. When you grow up, if you still feel raw about it, I'll be waiting.

The Bride: For those of you lucky enough to leave with your lives, go! But leave your limbs! They belong to me!

Copperhead: So I suppose it's a little to late for an apology, huh?
The Bride: You suppose correctly.
Copperhead: You have every right to want to get even.
The Bride: Get Even? Even-Steven? I would have to kill you....that'd be about square.

Go-Go Yubari: You call that begging? You can beg better than that. -Kill Bill, Vol. 1

When will I learn that I don't really like Quentin Tarantino movies? I don't know what I was thinking last weekend. I just wanted to see a movie, and thought that I would wait to see Intolerable Cruelty with my husband. Maybe I thought it would be like Charlies Angels? The first one, I mean. Not to say that there weren't some beautiful scenes - like the pagoda in the snow. But there are also some really annoyingly violent scenes - like what happens at the end of the scene with the pagoda in the snow...

I also confess a bit of fascination with this new character, Go Go Yubari, played by Chiaki Kuriyama. I couldn't find much on her specifically, despite the Kill Bill website's claims that "at nineteen she is a full-fledged teen idol in Japan, with all that implies in terms of custom-produced record albums and coffee-table photo collections." I saw no websites about coffee-table phot collections. I did find some websites dedicated to the "2000 cult classic Battle Royale, a savage SF satire in which teams of school-uniformed teens are pitted against each other in lethal elimination games." Pretty awful, too!

I haven't done much fun other than that. I have a cold or some sinus thing and I am trying to resist going to the doctor. I didn't go to school on Monday, but managed to get both china cabinets loaded with silver and china. We acquired a lot of things when my husband's mother passed away. It's too much, really. I mean, who needs 5 pairs of silver or silver plate salt and pepper shakers? I have straightened some things, but more needs to be done!

I have not done anything in the way of grading. I need to do that - pronto! Grades are due this week.

I have done a lot of cooking! Go to my recipes link above and check it out! I have to say that the bread pudding - like most bread puddings - is better the second day, out of the refrigerator. I also have to say that my beef tongue burrito stuffing is awesome!

I also have added something to my photo album. My mother sent me some really funny cards "just for men" and they are in there! I think that most women (and men) will find them pretty funny. So, click on the Photo Album below and go to Funny Stuff. Coming soon, once I make the pictures small enough - more photos!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003