What to do? 11:01 a.m. 2003-10-11

Current Listening: Jesse by Gary Soto
Current Reading: Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews
Recipe of the Day: More Burrito Fillings
Current Mood: The current mood of tiedyefor@mindspring.com at www.imood.com
Daily Quote:Oh, why won't Marvin K. Mooney just please go now? In this 1972 classic for "beginning beginners," Dr. Seuss devotes his rhymes to budging the reluctant young Marvin K.: "The time has come. The time is now. Just go. Go. GO! I don't care how." But despite his impatience, our narrator certainly isn't short of ideas on how Marvin could make an exit. "You can go on stilts. You can go by fish. You can go in a Crunk-Car if you wish." Seuss's ever wacky illustrations accompany each new mode of transport, from balloon to broomstick to Bumble-Boat. And if those who are just learning find a word they don't know, chances are Seuss has simply made it up to fill out this ear-pleasing, easy-to-read text. This book is yet another fun and euphonious entry from the good doctor, a silly primer for budding rhymers and readers. (Ages 4 to 8) -Paul Hughes

Great! I just was sent an e-mail to see What Dr. Seuss character I am. By answering just 8 questions, I was told:

Marvin K. Mooney
Which Dr. Seuss character are you?

brought to you by Quizilla

So - I am annoying, am I? Great! I didn't even remember who Marvin K. Mooney was, so I had to do a Google search. That's where the quote above is from. So, if you want to see who you would be, go to Which Dr. Seuss character are you? at Quizilla.

Yesterday, I felt miserable. I either have a cold, or it's just allergies finally catching up with me. It always starts the same way: with a sore throat. So, I endured a very long day, not getting home until 6PM because I didn't leave school until 4:00, and stopped to get new books on CD and something from Burger King, since I hadn't eaten all day.

We had testing yesterday, so that at least was a relief. I just handed the test to my poor ESOL students, and explained to them that I couldn't help them, and encouraged them to do their best. Yeah, right. Then, I retired to my desk to get some work done. The internet was down until noon, but I did pound out our school's Cultural Diversity School Plan, and sent it to an asst. principal to approve. I also thankfully found out that my psychiatrist's appointment is in the MORNING on Tuesday, and not in the afternoon, as I had remembered. I downloaded all of new patient forms and directions. Not to go into too much detail, but I am going to try anti-depressants. We'll see how that goes.

My husband came after school to meet me. It seems that the high school student that is supposed to be coordinating our ESOL Newcomer video is not coordinating. He's sort of a laidback wanna be surfer/skater dude who is a little too laidback for us - mainly my ESOL colleague who proposed the video. I, personally know all about the last minute Larry ploy he is likely to use. So my husband is going to volunteer his services as assistant to help light a fire under Laidback Larry. I suggested this, because this experience may come in handy in the future - especially since all of the other schools, upon hearing about our video idea, immediately asked if it could be used in their schools...

So, that's why we were late leaving. As soon as I got home, I jumped into the guest bed, planning on watching TV - I hadn't seen Miss Match yet, there was a network Queer Eye for the Straight Guy on, and I don't watch Boston Public anymore, now that it's on a Friday. I didn't do any of that. I slept until 11PM, when I got up to have fluids and to take my parched contacts out. Then, at 11:45, I retired to my main bed to sleep some more. I woke up at 5AM, then at 8AM to feed and walk the dog. I am up now, and trying to figure out what to do with my day.

I think I want to go to the movies. I definitely want to see Intolerable Cruelty, but must admit a certain curiosity about Kill Bill, pt. 1. I went to the Kill Bill website, and even sent an e-card to my husband from there. I am not sure yet if I want to see all of that violence (I am still reeling from the hypodermic scene in Pulp Fiction!), but, compared to the livestock reality in The Girl from Paris (I saw it last week), I think I can handle it. I am much more disturbed by animals getting hurt than people...

Speaking of movies, I went to see School of Rock last Wedneday with my husband. I thought it was very funny. Interestingly enough, after laughing and singing along with Jack Black, and pointing out all sorts of rock stuff, my husband commented at the end that it was "okay." Hmmmm.

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003