Domestic Weekend 9:07 p.m. 2003-10-05

Current Listening: Redwall by Brian Jacques
Current Reading: Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews
Crazy Loco by David Rice
Recipe of the Day: More Burrito Fillings
Daily Quote:
Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all.-Dale Carnegie

To be successful you must accept all challenges that come your way. You can't just accept the ones you like. -Mike Gafka

Adversity has the effect of eliciting talents, which, in prosperous circumstances, would have lain dormant. -Horace

The greatness comes not when things go always good for you. But the greatness comes when you're really tested, when you take some knocks, some disappointments, when sadness comes. Because only if you've been in the deepest valley can you ever know how magnificent it is to be on the highest mountain. -Richard M. Nixon

The block of granite which was an obstacle in the pathway of the weak becomes a stepping-stone in the pathway of the strong. -Thomas Carlyle

This was a pretty good weekend! On Saturday, I slept fairly late - until 10:00-ish, and then got up to let the dog out. I went with my husband to Lowes to buy more plastic shelving to put against the walls in our garage. I am way into moving as much out of the house as possible, and storing it in the garage. So far, we have camping gear, house painting stuff, extra kitchen stuff, and other things that need a home. My riding things are in there, hoping for a chance to be used again...

After we bought the shelving, I left to have sushi. I haven't had sushi in a couple of weeks, maybe. Raw oysters in New Orleans don't count. I went to RuSan, since I hadn't been there in a while, and ordered 8 pieces of nigiri and 6 pieces of maki. Very good, despite the thrumming disco beat that pervades the restaurant. One has to truly concentrate on not eating too fast with all of that fast music going!

Then, I met my mother at the Urban Market on Mean Street. We wandered around, tasting things, and looking at arts and crafts. It was a lot of fun, but I didn't buy anything yet. I will wait until the December market.

After that, we went to Jake's Ice Cream. I had the Chocolate Pecan Piescream and Brown Sugar Vanilla! We parted ways, mom and I, and I decided to take the long way home - up Buford Highway.

Interesting how it's okay to take my time going home, as long as it doesn't involve traffic!

I stopped at the Atlanta Farmers Market in Plaza Fiesta, just to see if there were any of those giant shrimp my dad and I saw last year. There were none of those, but there were plenty of odd things. I am pretty used to the pig's uteri, and bull pizzles - that's old hat to me! But there was a vat of Vietnamese eels with a few of them sluggishly slithering into the knot - that was unusual - as well as the cage of froggies, waiting to be taken home. And not as pets...

While there, I did a little research into rice noodles and pasta. My brother-in-law has developed a gluten intolerance, so his wife has had to research other starches, like rice, corn, and potatoes. I picked up a couple of packs of rice noodles - the shapes were limited, but I managed to find some "macaroni"-shaped pasta. I also picked up some tapioca pasta, and refrigerated rice noodles. I mentioned rice spring roll wrappers to my sister-in-law, but I don't know how flexible they will be in their use. For me, I just picked up a fresh Diet Coke, and a can of coconut milk for Thai this week.

Last night, my husband and I stopped by a bowling alley to visit with members of his high school class - they are trying to keep in touch after the last reunion. They are all very nice, and we will have to have them over for gumbo sometime. One of his classmates pretty much counted himself out - saying that he was a picky eater, and has to avoid spicy foods. Too bad for him!

After that, we went to see Lost in Translation, with Bill Murray. I liked it a lot! It was very subtle, but had some great, laugh-out-loud moments.

This morning, we slept in again, not making it to church. Oh, well! I woke up and got some things moved out into the garage, and, after having Pizza Hut Meatlover's Pizza slices warmed up and topped with fried eggs, I decided to actually plan a meal.

I took down my crock pot, and made an impromptu beef stew out of a package of fajita meat from the freezer, chopped vegetables (potato, onion, red and yellow bell peppers, mushrooms,carrots). I then took a carton of of organic French Onion Soup and added red wine and canned tomatoes to it, along with some chopped garlic, and pureed it and poured it over it all. I broke some crock pot rules and lifted the lid to taste, take the slab of meet out and shred it, and to add some seasoning. It was pretty good, if I do say so myself.

I got a lot done, I think, including an actual walk with my dog. Some things I didn't get done are paying bills, and doing any school work to speak of. Oh, well, there's always tomorrow!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003