Too Much on My Plate 9:59 a.m. 2003-10-01

Current Listening: Redwall by Brian Jacques
Current Reading: Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews
Crazy Loco by David RiceRecipe of the Day: Black Bean Burritos and Chicken Mole Burritos
Daily Quote:
Carrie: As we drive along this road called life, occasionally a gal will find herself a little lost. And when that happens, I guess she has to let go of the coulda, shoulda, woulda, buckle up and just keep going.
Carrie: When men attempt bold gestures, generally it's considered romantic. When women do it, it's often considered desperate or psycho.
Carrie: My Zen teacher also said: the only way to true happiness is to live in the moment and not worry about the future. Of course, he died penniless and single.
Miranda: Y'know, I have low self-esteem but I express it the healthy way, by eating a box of Double-Stuff Oreos. - Sex and the City

Leo Horoscope for week of October 2, 2003 from Free Will Astrology:

Your natural scent is strong and good these days. Your body is more flexible than usual and your willpower is extraordinarily supple. Even when you're tired, your voice is a healing melody; when you're well-rested, the words you express can disperse tensions that have lingered for a long time. Your ability to protect and inspire others reminds me of a mother dispensing snappy wisdom to her children. And your courage is teeming with innocent savvy. I swear you could hypnotize an agitated rattlesnake or gently crack open a closed mind.

Whatever. I feel better today than I did yesterday. Yesterday, I woke up bleary-eyed and dehydrated. I had ONE margarita Monday night. ONE! I am such a lightweight. I managed to be alert for my classes and for my student teacher, a 37-year-old man trying on a new career in teaching. It was great to have him here because I was able to send him out individually to talk to students about their reading books. Then, I let him go over the reading exercise with both classes. For my "rambunctious" class, I was able to run interference, and remove those who were taking advantage of my student teacher or monopolizing the conversation.

I planned on leaving early yesterday, at the 2:50 bell if possible. I dallied for 30 minuted to finish up some business, and waded into traffic. Things were looking promising until I hit (almost literally!) the first blockage just before 400. I made it past there only to hit another jam before Peachtree Industrial. Needless to say, I was a seething mass of anger by the time I got home, one hour after I left school.

My husband doesn't really want to hear any complaints about my commute. He reminds me that I chose the house. Strange how that doesn't make me feel better. Making me feel worse is the fact that my husband no longer works at the place that I referenced when looking for a "midpoint" location to make our driving a little more equal.

I realize also that others in the Atlanta area have been dealing with brutal commutes for years. When I first moved to Atlanta, both my mother and my sister were living in Dunwoody, and it took my sister about an hour, usually, to get to work downtown. I am just not used to having to do this myself. There was a time when I lived in Alpharetta and worked in Buckhead that I had the commute - about 35 minutes in the morning, and that much or more if I didn't leave work soon enough, or if there was a traffic problem. But, when I moved back to Georgia, I made it a point of living "against the commute" and have had it pretty easy.

Until now.

So, yesterday, I stormed into the house, and curled up in the guest bedroom in the fetal position, watching what was left of Oprah. It was about people being killed tragically - that was not necessarily what I needed to hear. I guess it made me feel grateful for not being in Iraq, or crushed in a nightclub, though! Then I hunkered down for Dr. Phil - it was the "final decision" about who would be able to take part in his Weight Loss Challenge. He kept them all!

I just went to the Dr. Phil website to get the link above, and almost took the Readiness Quiz. But, just reading the questions told me that I am not ready yet! Here is one reason why:

Dr. Phil�s approach to healthy eating is based on a High-Response Cost, High-Yield Nutrition principle. High-response cost foods are foods that require a great deal of effort to prepare and eat. The output required to ingest these foods is high, whereas the calorie payoff is low. Foods in this category could be anything from broccoli to meat, which require preparation in a series of steps to get from raw to edible form. High-yield foods are those that supply a lot of nutrients relative to the amount of calories they contain. These are foods that are generally more pure and natural. They don�t have added sugar, fat, additives and other unhealthy ingredients. Low-response cost foods are easily ingested, overly convenient and require little preparation. Examples include: hamburgers, french fries, and bagged chips. Low-yield/low-response foods are high in calories and low in nutrients, and have little nutritional value. By knowing what to eat, when to to eat and how to eat the individual can learn to manage the factors that make nutritional lifestyle change difficult.

You mean I am supposed to spend MORE time cooking? Pass the SlimFast! Seriously, though, I like cooking, but after working all day, and driving home in potentially bad traffic, a major production cooking is the last thing I have on my mind.

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003