Inspired... 11:09 a.m. 2003-09-13

Current Listening: Pagan Babies by Elmore Leonard
Current Reading:Diary of an American Au Pair by Marjorie Leet Ford
Recipe of the Day: Restaurants I want to visit...
Daily Quote:(Not from movies this time!)
There is no need to do any housework at all! After the first four years, the dirt doesn't get any worse! -Quentin Crisp

If you're not making the money in your life that you think you should be making, if you have debt, if you can't save a penny, I am willing to bet that clutter is standing smack in the middle of what you have today and what you could have tomorrow. -Suze Orman

Being clear of clutter is one of the greatest aids I know to discovering and manifesting the life you want. -Karen Kingston

This morning, I absolutely do not want to get out of bed. I try to keep this journal upbeat, but I am not seeing much right now to be upbeat about. My husband is unemployed, I just found out how expensive it is going to be to add him to my medical insurance policy, we just got a notice from our homeowners association issuing a mandatory outside painting by the end of November. I feel like I am already drowning in debt. A friend called to ask if I wanted to go to the mall, but how can I even think of shopping?

And to think that, just two months ago, I treated my dad and my husband and myself to a trip to Mexico. Regrets? Well, no. Just as in the past when I "forced" a cruise on my husband, it seems to be true that, if you don't go, you never will. And, all of the decisions that we have made - house, insurance options, travel - were made on the assumption that we would both be employed.

To add to my blue mood, I got to worrying about the spot that my father had removed from is chest. One of my fellow teachers had a father that died of melanoma, and I am afraid that is what it will turn out to be. He said that his doctor said it wasn't (probably?), and my sister's mother-in-law who works for a dermatologist looked at it, and said it probably wasn't, but it sure looks like the ones in the Yahoo site where I inquired about skin cancer. Well, there's no way to know until Tuesday, I think.

Is all of this bumming you out? Well, it's bumming me out - and there is going to be no possibility for "relief" (read, anti-depressants) until I see a psychiatrist in mid-October. And, frankly, I don't see yet how drugs will help if the situation doesn't get any better.

So, this morning, after I got up, I went to the internet, and clicked on a few banners, read a few blogs. I think it was while I was searching for Journal Prompts (that good ol' Friday Five being a great way to attract people to my journal - I thought to find more...) that I came across a site called TrashLog.org. It's hard to describe - just go there. Then, I found a link to an art project for Art Collage Totes. I liked the idea, but this website is really amazing! I have been there for the past hour, and have found links to:

Shrines
Letterboxing
Artiststamps, including this great tutorial on making your own stamps in Photoshop
"Zines"
Tarot Decks
Art Cards...

The list is endless. There are also scans of various Art Journals, scanned and displayed in her website. The inspiration for this entry is her Decluttering Journal, kept during a move out of her house - I think, after a divorce. The quotes are from that journal.

So, if you haven't gotten the gist of this whole entry, GO to Aisling D'Art - Wild Artistic Visions, and be inspired! I'm off to put on clothes and stuff...and maybe to get organized! I was going to do this last weekend - and, believe me, I have a lot to throw out.

My mother has invited me to go and see the preview for Under the Tuscan Sun tonight. I am torn. On the one hand, I really want to see it. But, on the other hand, I have an art gallery invite from a friend, and I am not sure if I want to see a movie about someone's dreamy life in Tuscany right now... We'll see...

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003