I'm Busy! 9:22 p.m. 2003-08-21

Drive Time - AM: 35 minutes
Current Listening: White Oleander by Janet Fitch
Current Reading:Cuba Diaries: An American Housewife in Havana by Isadora Tattlin
Recipe of the Day: Seafood Paella, Prosecco Sangria, Flan

Sorry I haven't posted lately. As a matter of fact, I just spent an hour typing up two new recipes for my other blog, and then somehow managed to delete the entry. Crap!

The past few days have been very busy. Yesterday, before my therapist appointment, I managed to find the new Jake's Ice Cream on Howell Mill. I had two different kinds of ice cream: Karmalo (?) - a caramel flavor, and the ever-popular Chocolate Slap Yo Mama! After my appointment, I spent an hour and a half in the new Overstock Book Warehouse on Chattahoochee Avenue. I managed to get out of there with only $38 damage - but I will be back! The place is not air conditioned, but there are big fans, free chilled water, and a 15% discount for teachers!

Tomorrow I am supposed to go and pick up my mother's dog in that area. It could be possible that I will end up at Jake's again...

Today, one of the assistant principals asked me to be the chairperson of the Cultural Diversity committee. We had a great talk, and I have a lot of ideas. I used the software Inspiration to brainstorm my ideas. (If you are not familiar with Inspiration, it is a super program that allows you to get down all of your thought, and automatically converts the thought web into an outline!).

Some of my ideas include a Reading Club centered around juvenile literature (about different cultures), a monthly dinner at different ethnic restaurants in the area (perhaps combined with the Reading Club), a newsletter, and an inservice centered around the HBO special, Americanos. Whew!

I am a little anxious, because I did not participate in the committee last year. The committee has actually become a non-committee, with the aim being getting out as soon as possible. I don't want it to be that. On the other hand, I also have to be careful not to do everything myself. I am already planning on publishing a mini-newsletter, and a flyer for the Reading Club and/or Dinner Club, as well as a staff survey - all by next Wednesday's faculty meeting.

I also have a list of "home" errands to run, including finding some way to get the TV cabinet from Nadeau, and the 4 bookcases from our friend Marietta's house. Much to do!

I am addicted to my book on CD, White Oleander. I have even taken to driving out of my way, just to be able to listen as long as I can. My husband just informed me that I can play CDs on my computer! Duh! I may actually finish listening to it by this weekend!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003