Relaxing Sunday 2:05 p.m. 2003-07-20

Current Listening: Some Jackie Chan/Chris Tucker movie
Current Reading: On Rue Tatin: Living and Cooking in a French Town by Susan Herrmann Loomis
Recipe of the Day: Memelitas, Mole Poblano, and Pipian

Today, I am on my own for a while. Be sure to check the link in my recipe blog for adventures in the culinary area! I am definitely having some small adventures with food. Let�s just hope it does not coincide with adventures with anti-diarrheal medication! After I finish up here, I am going to see out some ice cream and sit down in the plaza and read my book, which I am enjoying very much!

Here are some photos of a past eruption of the volcano Popocatepetl, which scattered ashes yet again on Mexico City. My friend, Pablo, said that when it happened a while back, the ashes came toward his town, Atlixco, and that they had to close up and block the windows and doors to keep the ashes to a minimum!

Yesterday, we went for drinks at the restaurant of Pablo�s son-in-law. He owns a restaurant that serves the Brazilian meat on the swords that are becoming more popular now in the United States. It is a very open restaurant, with a playground for the children. Apparently, these set ups with outdoor play areas are necessities, as families go out for Sunday lunch together, and there has to be something for the kids to do! It was the same with the trout restaurant we went to on Thursday. I think it�s a great idea.

As I mentioned in my food blog, my father has been doing his thing, which is cooking. He made a gumbo with shrimp and crab last night, and it was funny to see Pablo give a little advice on how to make the stock better. He is a man who is obviously used to having his opinion asked for! Dad took it well, and has been enlisted to cook 20 quail for a family dinner this afternoon!

Keep your fingers crossed for us tomorrow, as we make the trip to Oaxaca. My bus schedule says that there is a bus leaving at 8AM from Puebla, which is 30 minutes away. Pablo says that his driver might not be able to come that early. The only other bus going on that line leaves at 7PM. So, I might ask if we can call a taxi. Of course, it is also possible that there are other bus lines that will go to Oaxaca - we just don�t know yet! In the most extreme case, we may have to go all the way to Mexico City, and then take another bus down. We will have to be flexible!

Okay, I am off to have ice cream - I don�t think it will spoil my lunch!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003