Testing, Day 3 9:41 a.m. 2003-04-24

Nothing much happening at the moment. We are on our third and final day of testing, and I am glad it is almost over. Picture, if you will, spending 4 1/2 hours with your class - in middle school. It's tedious, boring, and, well, not my cup of tea. If it had been, I would have become an elementary school teacher.

Speaking of which - I got the summer school teaching job. I will be teaching 6-8 grade ESOL, and there is another teacher teaching that as well. I will focus mainly on language acquisition, so I am going to just ask if I can get out of the pre-planning inservice (can you believe that there is one for teaching 5 weeks of summer school?), which focusses on Academy of Reading (a software program), and teaching Math.

Instead, I will try to sign up for a two day inservice on our "new school plan," something "learning focussed schools." Can you say oxymoron? I would receive a $250 stipend for this. I don't know if I will be able to swing it. Even though I don't plan to be paid for the two day summer school inservice I would be missing, my principal might not okay it. But it doesn't hurt to ask.

This afternoon, I have a DSS (Department of Special Services) meeting about my ganster student. I am supposed to act as translator, as well as be his content-area teacher. I will just keep repeating "ello es muy malo" (he is very bad) over and over again.

No new word on the bid on our second townhouse. We should do something today or tonight.

Last night, I went to see Holes. I thought it was very good - but I haven't read the book yet. I figured I'd read it afterwards, so as not to be disappointed by the movie version.

I also finished my book on CD, called Le Mariage, by Diane Johnson. I thought it was good, too, with some interesting insights into the Franco-American relations thing. The only complaint I had was that the ending was a little oblique. I like happy endings that are more evident!

That's it for now. I have truly wasted my time the past few days, 'net surfing while students test! Gotta get back in work mode!!!!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003