Hobby Lobby does it to me again! 9:59 a.m. 2006-07-02

I actually did get a response from the DIY network people (See last entry). What they were most interested in were my story boxes - great! No problem. The next step is to make a videotape of myself demonstrating the craft (pretty terrifying in its own right...) and come up with some variations on the project (I'm already thinking Asian).

The item that I use for this project is a simple unpainted 2-deck card box with hinges and a latch. $1.99 at Hobby Lobby. Last time I went there (months ago), I purchased 6 of them - they have been there since and beyond the shrine frames. So, just to be on the safe side, I go to Hobby Lobby to pick up more.

Well, at the closest one, there are none. No worries - I arrange to go by another Hobby Lobby close to the cinema where we are going to see Cars.

None.

So I have spend a LOT of internet time, and all day yesterday driving around, searching Michaels, other Hobby Lobbys, JoAnn Fabrics, and Garden Ridge for suitable substitutes. I have found some, but they are not exactly the same.

Do I have to go into business AGAINST Hobby Lobby to maintain my supply of craft necessities? This is ridiculous. I am already ordering shrine frames from China - is Hobby Lobby the craft store equivalent of a heroin dealer? (I won't explain the metaphor - if you don't get it, you don't.)

Things are still on go for the video. My husband is going to take the reins on that one. I just need to come up with the examples of the different stages of production and the alternatives, which should be fun. I have also unearthed a few cigar boxes of a larger size, but of the appropriate depth to make bigger story boxes.

Also, yesterday, while at the JoAnn's in Snellville, I was able to snatch up almost 4 more yards of a discontinued Robert Kaufman fabric that I use for my Virgin of Guadalupe sheer shrines. They also had the Calaveras (Mexican sugar skulls) design, but I haven't found a project for that yet, so I didn't buy.

I have also snagged some mini sized wood crosses with edges to make a smaller version of my Guadalupe cross, as well as some unpainted ladybug appliques that I am going to turn into little skulls. Fun!

So, that's what I have been up to - in case you were wondering! Check out my E-Bay auctions!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003