Vive La Raclette!!! 1:29 p.m. 2006-03-11

Check out my E-Bay Auctions! I have artwork, Zarela items, and glittery Easter eggs up for auction!

But, as busy as this week has been, I want to talk about my newest design. I believe that this is genius - that I am tapping into an audience that has been under-exploited. A wacky subculture that takes part in a ritual unknown to many people in the world. Yes, I'm talking about raclette!

When I lived in France, I once attended a large raclette party thrown on an old farm by a bunch of instructors and students at the Centre Equestre (riding school) in Poitiers. Different people brought the goods: raclette grills, cheese, potatoes, bread, ham, sausage, veggies, and cornichons. It was awesome!

When I returned to the United States, every once in a while I would search for the possibility of buying a raclette grill, but they were nowhere to be found. I didn't want to worry about voltage converters, so I didn't buy one in France. Even when I was finally able to locate an apparatus, it was very expensive.

Finally, Amazon.com offered one for $40 and I got one for Christmas. Very soon after that, after practicing with my husband, I threw my first raclette party. A French friend brought her grill, and there were about 12 to 16 people present. It was a big success.

Rather than spend time re-inventing the wheel, here is good recipe for a basic raclette.

Now, here is where I come in. I threw a raclette party last year, having just gone ahead and purchased a second one for myself. But I have not thrown one this year! I have to, in order to justify the cost of my raclette extravagance! In fact, I will probably throw two parties: one for friends and one for family and friends. In the back of my mind was a design for a raclette invitation I wanted to design.

Originally, I was going to draw it. But then, I thought of something better. Voila! My Raclette Party invitation! It even has the basic invite info on the inside, along with a brief description of the concept for the suspicious. I also have the design on posters, postcards, and, of course, clothing. I spent waaaaay too much time on this, as I often do, but I am really happy with the results. Visit my Vive la Raclette! CafePress store! This morning, I even designed a bumper sticker. Yes, I am a bit obsessive. And, yes, I am on medication!

I am about to go out and check cheese prices. I will let you know how the party goes! In the meantime, do a little Googling and plan your own party - you already know where to get the invites!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003