This and That 4:05 p.m. 2006-02-23

Visit my new Maison Celeste store and my E-Bay auctions!!

This reading comes from Free Will Astrology:

Japanese farmers have perfected a way to grow square watermelons. At the market the fruit can be stacked with more ease and efficiency, and at home it fits better in the refrigerator. I suggest that you make the square watermelon your metaphor of the week, Leo. What can you do to retrain nature so that it better serves your practical goals? How might you engineer your unruly instinctual urges so as to further your civilized needs?

Normally, I take Rob's word for these things, but I decided to go in search of the SQUARE WATERMELONS (Shikaku Suika)

One of the rarest foods in Japan is the square watermelon. Grown in a square, glass case, they cost about 10,000 yen each and are very difficult to find because they are so difficult to grow. This sort of expensive luxury food is not eaten by regular people but is instead given as a gift to business associates or "o sewa ni natta hito" (people to whom you have an obligation because of something they have done for you).

Here is another article from BBC.com. Cool fruit!!! 10,000 yen was about $83! Now, what has this got to do with ME?!!! I'm working on it!

In the meantime, I have ordered a new book on CD. I bought an Oprah magazine while at the pharmacy the other day, and came across a book excerpt of Eat, Pray, Love : One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia by Elizabeth Gilbert. It looked pretty engaging, so I ordered it on CD. Who knows, maybe I can get someone to pay me to travel and live somewhere for four months at a time!!!!

It's four o'clock, and it's time to go to my Thursday night class. I don't really want to. Yesterday afternoon, I was able to take a nap, then got up and cleaned up my half of the bedroom. I am seriously going to work on getting rid of clothes I haven't worn in years. That will be for this weekend!!!

My husband reminds me that I have not gone to the gym in two MONTHS - just once, really, and now my trainer (if he cares at all...) must think I have fallen off the face of the Earth. I am determined to go back this weekend - maybe even tomorrow!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003