Thank God It's Friday!!! 1:04 a.m. 2006-01-28

Visit my E-Bay auctions!! I am trying a new closing night - usually I close on Sunday night, but I am trying Saturday out for size.

I made it through my class last night, and my husband was there to pick me up. You will need to look at previous entries to find out why I don't have a car at this moment. I went straight to bed when I got home - I am trying to read Diane Johnson's book, L'Affaire, but I fall asleep pretty easily when I hit the bed. Then, I woke up a couple of times in the night. When the alarm went off, I could not believe it was already 5:30!

Still, I like Fridays, usually, and I think this was the first Friday I have arrived at school intact and ontime (or actually, at all!) in the new year. There is one of the teachers (semi-retired, now) that has a big old crockpot full of cheese grits in the attendance office on Friday mornings upon arrival. You can either pay by the cup ($2) or join the "Cheese Grits Club" ($5/month). The teacher collects the funds and donates them to something, I think.

Today, we were in the computer lab to take yet another one of those online assessments that the kids love so much (not!). I explained to my students that I had no choice - and no child would be left behind!!!! I had to do a lot of micro-management, helping my kids and the other ESOL teacher's kids log on properly and choose the right test. Once we got that done, there were still minor computer freezes and unplanned exits from the test that I had to troubleshoot.

Still, I managed to get quite a bit done on my outside of work projects. I brought my laptop with me and realized that I could update my Mardi Gras CafePress shop. I brightened up the illustrations, changed the date, and saved them as PNG files. Then, I had to go to my shop and meticulously change the images used on my merchandise. I am sure that there was an easier way to do it - but that took a LOT of time. Check it out!!!

When I got home, my trainer had cancelled on me - and God forbid I just go to the gym without someone to watch me! - so I worked on another print for my Loteria calendar. Unfortunately, the way the shops are set up, you don't see the newer design right away, so keep scrolling. Here is a calendar print from the El Cantarito page. With the El Alacran print done, that means I still have 10 more to go!!!! Then, I will work on my valentine and collage calendars.

After I took a nap, I got back up and obsessively headed for the computer (after I took a shower to warm up!). I decided that I might change my journal to a blogspot layout. Here is what I have so far. I really was hoping that the colors would be more customizable. I was hoping for cobalt and sky blue. I do like the ease with which it allows you to add pictures, though. Still, I spent entirely too much time on that doodling!!!

While I was at it, I found a new creativity book I have to have: The 12 Secrets of Highly Creative Women: A Portable Mentor by Gail McMeekin. I even found a new quote that I like:

"What you love is a sign from your higher self of what you are to do." - Sanaya Roman, writer.

Okay, I just Googled Ms. Roman. Here is a bit about her. Quite new-age-y, but I can't criticize, being a divination freak. She can channel anyone she likes - it's still a good saying!!!

It's 1AM, and it should be time to go to bed. Never mind that I just made my husband and I scrambled eggs with smoked sausage, peppers, onions, and Cheddar cheese. I hope I can sleep!!!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003