Kings and Good Things Come in Threes 8:11 a.m. 2005-01-06

I got home fairly early yesterday afternoon and convinced my husband to take a short walk with the dog and I in downtown Norcross. Then I fell asleep in front of Dr. Phil. I would have just kept on sleeping, but I got up and fixed something to eat for dinner.

While I worked on my checkbook, I watched TV. Alas, Wednesday nights are the "night of the living dead" as far as TV is concerned. I know that there is that show about the White House, but I have not gotten into that. Instead, I watched some show that pits models against each other to be the Sports Illustrated swimsuit model, and then Nanny 911.

I then went to bed. But I am still very sleepy. I have to write the Diversity Plan today - and I missed the heads of committee meeting yesterday. Apparently I am still not hip to the fact that I have to stay late every Wednesday.

So go to Free Will Astrology, because he is offering sound clips of this week's and the last two weeks' horoscopes, sort of an extended forecast for the year! I can't listen right now, because I have students, but here they are in written form:

Part One: Last month, a religious fanatic in Taiwan decided to reach out to a previously neglected group of heathens. At a zoo, he leaped into a lion's den and began trying to convert the beasts to the Christian faith. "Jesus will save you!" was one of his oft-repeated exhortations. The lions seemed enraged by his appeals, and it was only through the heroic efforts of the zookeepers that the crusader was saved from martyrdom. Let him serve as your anti-role model in 2005, Leo. Work diligently to spread your good intentions; be brave in promoting your high ideals; ramp up your powers of persuasion to a new level; but don't waste your time trying to win over dumb beasts, bad listeners, and narrow-minded dogmatists.

When I read this two weeks ago, I gave it some thought. I am pretty sure it means that I have been spending a lot of time trying to "fix" other people, when I should know by now that the only person I have any control over is myself.

Part Two: This should be the year you devote yourself to the maddening and glorious details, Leo. I encourage you to dive into the mysteries of intricacy as you master the thousand and one practical matters that will ultimately make your dreams come true. You might want to memorize the following quote from philosopher William James: "I am done with great things and big plans, great institutions and big success. I am for those tiny, invisible loving human forces that work from individual to individual, creeping through the crannies of the world like so many rootlets, or like the capillaries."

I hope that this means that I will go farther by working of my small projects consistently and diligently. I have an awful feeling that this means I will have to embrace paperwork in all of its manifestations: taxes, record-keeping for school and home and business, and so on...

Part Three: (This Week) A giant Wal-Mart now stands within a mile of the ancient Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuac�n, Mexico. A KFC restaurant emits a steady surge of fried chicken fumes very close to Egypt's Sphinx. Meanwhile, near the most sacred place in your heart, Leo, there is a mound of psychic garbage. You can't do anything about the desecration of the first two places I mentioned, but you can about the third. I recommend that you take care of this little problem in the coming week. In addition to acts of cleansing and purification, I suggest you make a ritual atonement or two.

I suppose that the current "desecration" would be the state of disaster of my living space. Talk about a mess! Last night, I didn't have time to do much re-organizing, as I had to reconcile my checkbook - that took two hours. Thank God for inane reality shows that keep me company! ;-)

I also am trying to start taking better care of myself. Among my New Year's Resolutions are:

1. Wear make-up at school every day. I have made it to first period three out of the last four days.

2. Work on making my hair behave. I have colored my hair red and have invested in a new line of hair care products - Bed Head by TiGi. I am so tired of my hair being a mess. If all else fails, I am cutting it all off!

3. Lose weight. I am adopting the Slim-Fast program for the moment and am going to endeavor to walk 30 minutes a day.

By the way, Happy Epiphany! I am going in search of Rosca de los Reyes, which is the Mexican version of King's Cake. I was going to do a comparison paper between the Louisiana, Latin American, and French Traditions of Three King's Day, but need to focus on other things, including not spending money on my students! I even found a page in Portuguese about a Bolo Rei, so apparently they celebrate other there in Brazil as well!

OR, I may just rent Three Kings - the movie with George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, and Ice Cube...

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003