New Year 9:24 p.m. 2005-01-02

Happy New Year! I went to bed before the New Year, believe it or not! I didn't get adequate sleep the night before,and am having to catch up all over again.

I am in the middle of a massive rearrange - we live in a three story townhouse, and I am switching office spaces with my husband. Originally, he had the bottom floor guest room and I had the top floor guest room. Since my crafting has taken over the garage, which is on the bottom floor - and is threatening to engulf the house (I had projects on all three floors!) - we decided to try to contain my stuff on the bottom floor.

Yesterday was spent avoiding some work, but today we woke up at a reasonable time (10:00...) and got out and did some window shopping. I purchased 10 fairly large clear storage containers that I plan to use some way. We also looked at computer desks (Wheat's has to stay on the bottom floor with me) and chairs. I was so thrilled to find one of those fabulous kneeling chairs for only $50.00. I love those!

We ate lunch at Fuddruckers - did I mention that I am contemplating starting the SlimFast Plan (again...) this week. I will not start until Tuesday - tomorrow is a work day, so there is too much chance for thinking about food.

Ideally, in a work day there should be a brisk schedule: arrive at school, prepare for class, teach first block, spend planning period preparing for the rest of the day and week and thinking up things for my Teaching Assistant to do, teaching my second block, taking them to lunch, bringing them back, teaching the last block and doing anything else demanded of me by the school system. Then, I have to be sure not to pass by anything remotely tempting to eat before I get home. But, if you give me any chance (a cake brought by a colleague, chips at the gas station...) I will cheat! Sad, isn't it?

I just got finished with Looking for Mary by Beverly D'Onofrio (Riding in Cars with Boys). No, I am not going to become Catholic, but I did find it interesting. Here is a quote from the last chapter of her book:

(The following is a poem from the Dhammapada - sayings of the Buddha):

The thought manifests as the word;
The word manifests as the deed;
The deed develops into the habit;
And habit hardens into character;
So watch the thought and its ways with care,
And let it spring from love
Born out of concern for all beings...

As the shadow follows the body,
As we think, so we become.

As a matter of fact, St. Patrick's Catholic Church is within walking distance from my place...

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003