Holiday Time! 8:30 a.m. 2004-11-23

It's the last day of school before the Thanksgiving holidays - Yay!!!!! I made it to school, and am going to try and get the heck out of here so that I have a minimum of traffic (right...) on the way home.

My husband is bound for Florida this afternoon. A lovely 83-year-old cousin of his passed away yesterday and he and his brother are flying down for the funeral. They will be back late tomorrow night.

In the meantime, I need to learn to make aspic. In case you don't know what that is, it is a kind lemon-tomato jello side dish. My grandmother used to make it, and it was really good. I guess it's a little like a jello Bloody Mary, because there is vegetable stock and Tabasco in it. Strangely enough, I do not like Bloody Maries, though. I am either going to put it in my new beautiful fleur-de-lis jello mold, or in individual molds. I think I am also making pecan pie.

My eBay auctions are going less spectacularly this month, although someone has bid $50 on my Peter Max decoupage jewelry chest. I think that I will take it easy and not put anything new back on until next weekend. It is the end of the month, and other people may be as broke as I am.

I have also started printing out little cards with the URL's to some of my Cafe Press shops to put around town. I spent way too much time Saturday night working on my I love Paris heart - tinkering with it in Photoshop, uploading it to a shop, choosing products, making a special fleur-de-lis logo to go with it. After printing out a large copy, I found out that it was not great - something wrong with my blacks because I colored over using colored pencils... Back to the drawing board.

In the meantime, I could be making HUNDREDS of DOLLARS, simply by filling out the expense report and filing for reimbursement for the TESOL Conference that I attended almost two months ago! I am such a bad procrastinator. I really REALLY hate paperwork. REALLY - it's silly, isn't it?

Last night, on my way home, I found tamales. In Texas, on every street corner it seems that there is someone selling tamales, but here it is not found. I guess Texas is coming here, because I have now found cabrito (goat meat) tacos and tamales on a street corner! They were chicken, they were $1.00 each, and they were good, but a little too peppery for my taste. Still, TAMALES!

Speaking of TEXAS - I still am on pins and needles, waiting to hear the outcome of SOMETHING from my friend in HOUSTON. Hint, hint...

I guess I will sign off now. This is going to be a long day. Must get actual work done.

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003