Hamburgers with Truffles and Foie Gras 2:10 p.m. 2003-11-06

Current Listening: Crazy in Alabama by Mark Childress
Current Reading: Julie by Jean Craighead George - just finished!
Recipe of the Day: Pumpkin Orange Soup with Parmesan Toasts, Asian Chicken Salad (uses Ramen packet!), Mini Cheese Calzones, Sweet-And-Sour Brisket of Beef, Orange Dreamsicle Layer Cake, Sour Cream Cinnamon Loaf

Yesterday, I did not write. I got home late, made dinner, and then realized that bills had to be paid. Then I realized that some of the bills had to be found!!! By the time I scraped all of that together, I was ready for bed. I did do a timeline on the computer while I was chaperoning my students in the computer lab yesterday afternoon... Here's Chapter 7 - I still am 1,974 words behind!

Yesterday, as promised, I went by Star Provisions, a gourmet shop not far from my therapist's office. I had only planned on buying the flageolet beans. I also purchased the hamburger patties with truffle and foie gras. They were $6.00 a piece! I also purchased one for my mom - it's in the freezer. I got some more of the fennel sausage to cook with the beans later - it's also in the freezer. When I went back to get the patty for Mom, the butchers turned me on to the brioche hamburger buns they had in the bakery section. Sold! for $1.50 apiece! I also grabbed a lemon square.

The hamburgers were fine, even though I set off the smoke alarm frying them! I had mine rare, and my husband sauteed Portobello mushrooms and sweet white onions in the meat juices to put on the burgers. They were outstanding!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003