Snooze 11:56 a.m. 2003-10-23

Current Listening: The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
Current Reading: Julie by Jean Craighead George
Recipe of the Day: Flageolets with Smoked Sausage, Tamarind Sweet Potato Bisque, Beef Brisket Braised in Guiness, Stewed Dried Plums in Marsala

I am soooooo sleepy! On the one hand, I hope that the anti-depressants are not causing drowsiness - I know of someone who has had that problem in the past. On the other hand, it is most likely the extreme lack of sleep I have had in the past 3 days.

I really planned on going to bed early last night. After my therapist appointment, I met my mother and my aunt for dinner at the Taqueria del Sol. I had two fried oyster tacos with jalapeno tartar sauce, and one fried chicken taco with lime mayonnaise. I also had a margarita, and some chips.

After that, we wandered around the little shopping area around the Taqueria. We went into Star Provisions, which is the gourmet shop that is part of Bacchanalia restaurant. I was sufficiently tempted to buy flageolets, which are light green and white small dried beans from France. They are not easy to find here in the U.S. I did not have good luck cooking with them when I found them at Williams-Sonoma several years ago, but now I have a crockpot!

I also purchased some fennel pork sausage, which smells strongly of garlic. Alas, they were not marking down the bakery items yet!

For dessert, we went to Jake's Ice Cream. I have to admit being a little dissappointed by the lack of variety of ice creams. I had the Chocolate Slap Yo Mama and the Brown Sugah Vanilla. I was heartbroken to hear that the seasonal Honey Fig will probably not be available this year, as they have lost the source of their fig base.

When I got home, I took a bath, and fiddled around on the internet while leaving one ear open to listen to "The Bachelor." This is a true sign that I need cable, if this is what is left to see on a Tuesday night!

Unfortunately, I am prone to really awful coughing fits, and I had several yesterday and last night. I hope they stop soon, as I am yawning and snoozing in class right now!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003