Not Ready for School... 7:06 p.m. 2003-10-19

Current Listening: Aiding and Abetting by Muriel Spark
Current Reading: Julie by Jean Craighead George
Recipe of the Day: Curried Vegetable Stew, Burritos de lengua en salsa verde, Crockpot Rum Croissant Bread Pudding
Current Mood: The current mood of tiedyefor@mindspring.com at www.imood.com
Daily Quote:
I learned that inspiration does not come like a bolt, nor is it kinetic, energetic, striving, but it comes to us slowly and quietly and all the time, though we must regularly and every day give it a little chance to start flowing, prime it with a little solitude and idleness. -Brenda Ueland

I have really not done a whole lot this weekend - recuperating is something in itself, I suppose. But I always bring home lots of stuff from school to do, rationalizing that I will get so much done without those pesky students there to distract me. I did get my grades sussed out, but still need to think about the planning thing. I also didn't get newsletter worked on for Cultural Diversity, as I thought I would.

Yesterday, I was still coughing up a storm - lovely, long hacking coughs, like I was going to lose a lung... I took my father out to eat at my favorite sushi buffet, Toyota Ya, on Buford Highway. They serve cooked Chinese food as well, and my dad had a 3 course meal with soup, salad, appetizers, a couple of dishes, and dessert. Me, I stuck with the sushi.

In the afternoon, while he watched football on TV and my husband typed up a 20 page tutorial for him on finding vintage guitars, I cleaned up my office a bit. That consisted mainly of moving some things into boxes, and seeing how much of it all I could fit into my closet area. While working, I watched my tape of Bring It On!

For dinner last night, we had leftover shrimp, crab, and okra gumbo. My dad made it the night before. He and my husband went to some guitar stores so that my husband could teach him more about spotting guitars at yard sales to put on E-Bay. (Some may remember my father's $12.00 purchase of a Sears Silvertone guitar and amp that netted him over $600 on E-Bay, with my husband's help). Dad showed us his bricks, and showed me some new postcards while I blogged.

I woke up this morning with a little less congestion and coughing, and believe I may be on the mend. I did have major tummy problems, though. I don't know why - and don't say it was the sushi! ;-) We had a real breakfast this morning, with me making some of the stone-ground speckled grits I bought in North Georgia. I cooked some of the turkey bacon my mom gave me, and fried some eggs. My dad made scrambled eggs for himself and his son-in-law. Dad left at about 4:00.

After that, I colored my hair. It will certainly go a long way towards making me look better. I was down to the 1/2 inch gray roots up front! And I was waiting to wash my hair until I colored it - I have basically been wearing bandannas all weekend. At least I look more presentable!

I know I am rambling. I do want to say that I set up my account with NaNoWriMo. I even set up a blog on Blogger to post the novel to. The tentative working title is Real World: Angers, but it is subject to change. This is a reference to my experience there, and the Real World MTV specials that are so popular. Even before Real World: Paris, I have commented that that series reminded me of my stay in Angers, since we were such a diverse group trying to cope in a foreign country. The link to my Blogger site is here. I just read on the NaNoWriMo site that posting your novel was not necessary. Maybe I misunderstood during the signup. If I don't post it, I may keep the site to post excerpts and/or progress reports. But then, what do I have this blog for?

I'll let you know. While browsing the NaNoWriMo site, I saw that there is also a challenge in March called NaNoEdMo, or National Novel Editing Month... Let's take it one thing at a time...

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003