It's in the cards! 2:43 p.m. 2003-10-02

Current Listening: Redwall by Brian Jacques
Current Reading: Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews
Crazy Loco by David RiceRecipe of the Day: Black Bean Burritos and Chicken Mole Burritos
Daily Quote:
For every person who wants to teach there are approximately thirty people who don't want to learn--much. -W. C. Sellar and R. J. Yeatman

The best learners... often make the worst teachers. They are, in a very real sense, perceptually challenged. They cannot imagine what it must be like to struggle to learn something that comes so naturally to them. -Stephen Brookfield

...one of the reasons I like classes and structured learning is that they encourage --and contribute to--the belief that life is orderly, that things happen when they are supposed to happen, that actions have predictable results and that events are controllable. -Roby James

A teacher's day is one-half bureaucracy, one-half crisis, one-half monotony, and one-eightieth epiphany. Never mind the arithmetic. -Susan Ohanian

Act your age. Students do not look upon you as a buddy, pal, or peer. They expect you to be a mature adult. Many young teachers have a tendency to seek popularity, resorting to tactics that can create endless problems. -Jim Brown and William Allan Kritsonis

Be the change you want to see in the world. -Gandhi

Now, isn't that inspiring? I tried to find quotes on ramen noodles but they were few and far between. ;-) Yes, I had ramen noodles for lunch. Actually, they are a treat called Smoodles, which I found in an Indian grocery. Seems that those Japanese innovators are attempting to win over the Indian population. For more on ramen noodles, see this article.

I added frozen oriental veggies to mine. It was spicy. Also, there was the question of whether to pour the broth off, or eat it like a soup. I finally poured off, because it was spicy. I hope I don't get an upset stomach. ;-0

Today has been okay, if a little wacky. Internet on the fritz, and, during my most "challenging" class, I had several interruptions. One of the interruptions was the other ESOL teacher asking for my "numbers" for an administrator. No biggie. The other interruption, as I was trying to get a listening exercise together, was the front office informing me that parents of one of my students had just shown up for a conference. Say WHAT? They are going to come tomorrow, during my free period. Yippee. I also have a new student. It's a good thing I checked my computer roll this morning. ALSO, one of my students that I have had for a month is moving! Busy, busy, busy.

It is calmer now. New student installed, students working on vocabulary (fruits and veggies), all is well. The 5th/6th block is my most challenging. Although one of my students is suspended, it is still lively, with students not hesitating to speak whenever they want - interrupting being their favorite thing to do. Today I did the old "Helen Keller" trick: I held the face of one of my students in my hands to focus her on what I was saying. Yikes!

Last night, after my husband and I got back from dinner at R. Thomas, I watched the season premier of Angel. There is no Buffy, so I am giving Angel a try. It was pretty good - we'll see how things pan out. Especially with Harmony and Spike on board now. If you don't know what I am talking about, read on. I'm done, now.

I picked up the bookmark I got when I worked in Phipps Plaza a few years ago. They are part of a collection called Cards of Illumination. I have my birth card. It is the Queen of Clubs: Intuitive Knowledge. Here is what it says:

You know from the source, so always listen to your inner voice and be receptive to higher knowledge. Your intuition is one of the strongest of al the cards. You have a strong mind for hard work and can receive recognition for it. You can be high-strung, creative, and reactive. You can be quite clever regarding finances and do well when you are the boss, or in a management position. You are freedom-loving, and can be drawn to spiritual studies. You enjoy variety, and have an unsatisfied quest for knowledge. You could be successful at writing, publishing and service related careers. One of your tests in life may have to do with understanding unconditional love in relationships. Inheritance is probable at some time in your life. Promotion, travel, and change of lifestyle are familiar to you. Your challenge is to get in touch with your emotions. Birthdays: 1/28, 2/26, 3/24, 4/22, 5/20, 6/18, 7/16, 8/14, 9/12, 10/10, 11/08, 12/06

Pretty neat, huh? And, I think, strangely accurate! You can go to the website, but you will only get a short form of your birth card. There is also a book!

I am going to stop now. I am determined to get out of here ASAP!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003