I dream of France.... 10:43 p.m. 2003-09-18

Current Listening: Three Weeks in Paris by Barbara Taylor Bradford
Current Reading: I'm betweem books, but coveting 1,000 Places to See Before You Dieby Patricia Schultz
Recipe of the Day: Restaurants I want to visit...
Daily Quote:
Kate: Did you know there are 452 official kinds of cheese in this country, isn't that amazing? To find 452 ways to classify what is essentially a bacterial process? Don't you think that's amazing?
Luc: You would prefer one kind of cheese? One cheeseburger to put it on? One restaurant to eat it in?
Kate: I'm saying I like the cheese. God! - French Kiss

Jerry Mulligan: Back home everyone said I didn't have any talent. They might be saying the same thing over here but it sounds better in French. - An American in Paris

I don't have much to say tonight. I have had a long day, and I just found out that my "plan" to corral the lower level kids of both grades and to try to teach them together is probably a no-go. Oh, well. I had the first visit from my student teacher/observer, and he seems very pleasant. I also attended the school book fair with my students, where I saw the above coveted book.

I came home and collapsed, then got up and walked out on my balcony to urge my dog into the backyard to go do her business. I had a margarita. I managed to summon the courage and discipline to write to an old friend in Poitiers, France. I explained that my French is very rusty, but my Spanish is getting better! ;-)

I did this after looking at an album of my stay in Poitiers. There's a picture of me in front of Nivella, a horse I rode there. Oh MY GOD, but I was actually THIN! There I was, in my black riding pants and suspenders, and you could barely see my butt! Of course, the picture was from the front, but my butt is always apparent! It was the walking - I never walked so much in my life. That, and the riding 4-5 days a week.

After that, I got a whim to do a websearch for private schools to apply to in France. I found one in Lyon that looked interesting, but it is a Christian school that has you "raise support" before going over there. That means that you have to get other people to sponsor your stay in Lyon, while teaching at the school. I thought, what the hell?

Are you supposed to say that while applying to a Christian school?

That's pretty much it for tonight. Just for laughs, and to be in complete contradiction to the Christian school applicant image, here is my horoscope from Free Will Astrology:

When I'm not writing this horoscope column, I pursue a career as a performance artist. For a recent show, I bought eight jars of pigs' feet at the grocery store, 200 pair of white underpants at Costco, and twenty alarm clocks at the drugstore. None of the clerks who took my money expressed the slightest interest in the reasons for my peculiar and prodigious orders. Their numbness was deeply disturbing to me. How could they have so thoroughly repressed their natural curiosity? In the coming week, Leo, you must avoid behavior like that. Awaken your innocent longing to know everything you can about the unexpected marvels that life brings.

Night!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003