Busy people! 1:06 p.m. 2003-08-18

Drive Time - AM: 35 minutes
Current Listening: White Oleander by Janet Fitch
Current Reading:Cuba Diaries: An American Housewife in Havana by Isadora Tattlin
Recipe of the Day: Seafood Paella, Prosecco Sangria, Flan

Back to school - week two! Yesterday was pretty busy, with my husband computer shopping with Alfred, his mother's husband. They purchased a new IMac, and I complemented Alfred on being an old dog who was not afraid of new tricks! My hubbie spent the better part of the afternoon helping him get set up on his new computer, and foresees a couple of nights' work loading and refining the machine! He's so good!

After that, we went over to my mother's for a belated birthday meal - shrimp and scallops with pasta, and Belgian waffles with low fat ice cream (where's the fun in that?) and two of the lovely Fran's toppings that she purchased in Seattle. They are the best ice cream toppings ever! For a link to the makers, go to my Recipe of the Day link. I will post the pasta recipe when Mom tells me where to find it!

My husband was enlisted to do yet more computer support on my mother's EMac (IMac?). He's the best son-in-law ever! For his father-in-law, he mounted two E-Bay auctions, and they ended last night. The guitar brought $577 and the amp brought $213. My dad bought the pair at a garage sale for $8!!!! That is an event that will probably not reoccur...

What did I do yesterday, while my husband was working so hard? I was trying to find a place for all of the stuff we have - in particular, the china, silver, and serving implements that have multiplied since my mother-in-law passed away. We have so many things, now. I did a lot of stair climbing, trying to stash stacks of plates (from three different service patterns) in the bottoms of my corner china cabinets. I also did some stowing of clothing in our closets.

I feel like I got a lot accomplished - but I have to figure out just how I am going to get the TV cabinet that I ordered from Nadeau, and 4 tall bookcases that we are being gifted with by a family friendk, to our house. I have looked into Two Men and a Truck, but they seem a lot more expensive than they did while we were pricing movers! I may have to go down to the Mexican shopping center and find some help there! I am pretty sure that I will have to miss a day of school (already?!) to get this accomplished, but I see no other way at the moment. You don't look gift furniture in the mouth. And those bookcases will provide a lot of storage! I am going to put one or two in the house, but the others will go in the garage!

My other class is coming in - gotta go! By the way, I am really enjoying my current book on CD, White Oleander. More later!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003