School Starts 11:19 a.m. 2003-08-13

Drive Time: 33 minutes
Current Listening: On Writing by Stephen King (I'm listening to it a second time...)
Current Reading:Cuba Diaries: An American Housewife in Havana by Isadora Tattlin
Recipe of the Day: Cocktails: Melon Margarita, Caipirinha, Pisco Sour, Kir Royale, Kir aux Mures

Okay, it's the third day of school, and I woke up wiped out this morning! Why? I took it easy on myself at school yesterday, giving my studentd "diagnostic" listening and grammar tests, then a reading assignment to do. After the first day, when there is so much (too much) talking, that was the thing to do!

Today - and probably part of tomorrow - the ESOL classes are combining to administer the LAB Exam. This is a standardized test used to place students of ESOL. So, that's not too bad.

Yesterday, after school, I scooted out as early as I could. We had received refund checks from our former utilities company and our former apartment complex - overpayments and deposit refunds. Well, I tried depositing them in my bank account, having my husband endorse the checks first. Friday, I was told by my bank that they could not accept them! What?!!!! This is new to me. They said that my husband would have to come down and be added to my account. They also said that I could go to Bank of America, since both of the checks were written on Bank of America accounts.

So, back to yesterday. I set off to the nearest Bank of America, which was housed in a Kroger north of my school. Again, the teller told me that they could not cash it without my husband being present. And they would need a thumbprint from each of us. AND there would be a $5.00 charge. I was furious. Obviously, there is no easy way to do this. And this is not some piddling sum - it's over $300 altogether.

After this, I drove to Nadeau, the furniture store where I had made some furniture selections (see the Furniture Decisions entry). It is ironic that the only thing that was available at this time was the thing that I was debating - also the most expensive - the blue TV cabinet. I went ahead and got it. And I am also paying to have it delivered, as I am obviously rich! I have to wait until September or October for the other pieces to come in!

Got to go now - students are coming in!

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003