Don't buy a dilapidated farm in the south of France... 9:51 a.m. 2003-06-17

Drive Time: 41 minutes
Current Listening: The Olive Farm by Carol Drinkwater.
Current Reading: A Cook's Tour by Anthony Bourdain

I have seen in other journals where people record these things, and decided to give it a try. I might stop recording the drive time by the time - once the shock and horror wear off. Today was an especially wearing commute, I assume because of all the rain. I don't think it's time to try the "Northern Arc" yet - driving through Roswell... Maybe on the drive home.

I seem to be on a roll of books about people living abroad. I wrote a brilliant record of my drive time listening pertaining to France, but alas I did not save the entry as an HTML document. So, when my computer crashed - as it is wont to do lately, I lost all of the links I had carefully laid out. I hope that won't happen this time.

As my title intimates, I am familiar with the oeuvres of Peter Mayle, having read A Year in Provence, Encore Provence, Toujours Provence, and even the most recent - French Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew. His mystery stories are lame, but these books are very interesting, even though the time I spent in the South of France was limited.

Apparently, this is a genre in itself now. I have also listened to the adventures of Frances Mayes in Under the Tuscan Sun, Bella Tuscany, and In Tuscany. Despite Mayes's annoying voice, I enjoyed these books, although I have not as yet been to Tuscany. I hope to go someday, though.

I have yet to read On Rue Tatin Susan Loomis, which may bring my reading of this genre to a close, but I absolutely loved Paris to the Moon by Adam Gopnik.

I almost forgot to mention, because I will soon be going back to Mexico, two expatriate books: one of the above genre, and one a novel. The first is called On Mexican Time, and I forget the other one.

Does this all mean that I, too want to live abroad? One thing I know for sure is that - if you do, and if you plan on purchasing a dilapidated old farm and renovating it, then you had better have a lot of cash. Which we don't have - as yet! ;-)
previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003