Questions about Music 6:03 p.m. 2003-05-03 From The Friday Five - a day late.

1. Name one song you hate to admit you like.

This one was a little difficult. I think I would have to say that, although I give my students a hard time about that darned rap music, and party music, I don't mind Nelly's "Hot in Here" song, nor Eminem's song from 8-Mile. It's just that I have a habit of getting songs in my head, and I don't like having "It's getting hot in here, so let's take off all our clothes..." while doing business-like things - like teaching!

2. Name two songs that always make you cry.

Off the top of my head, I could say that the last song that made me tear up was a French song called "Ella, Elle L'a" by France Gall. I was able to find a CD that had this song, as well as "Tous les Bateaux S'Envolent" by Michel Sardou, the last time we were in France. They both remind me of the last time I lived in France - and make me wonder when I will be able to return.

3. Name three songs that turn you on.

I remember Yes's "Owner of a Lonely Heart" getting me into trouble one time (don't ask!). But probably any fast dance song would do the same.

4. Name four songs that always make you feel good.

(from Friday Five - 4/11/03)This was from a question about my favorite songs of all time - that's also tough. But I have to say that "Lack of Water" by The Why Store is one of the best songs ever. I heard it while driving around - I forget the circumstance, but I was distraught about something, and didn't get the name of the band. Then, the morning I was getting ready to meet my future husband for a church date, it came on Organic X. It was a miracle!!!! I got to see them in concert, and have no idea why they weren't more successful. Check our their website link above.!

I have a thing about water songs. I also love Pain Lies on the Riverside by Live - that whole Mental Jewelry album rocks! Also, there's Bring Me Some Water by Melissa Ethridge.!

5. Name five songs you couldn't ever do without.

I think that the songs above qualify, but I would also like to add album names. I have a Best of Roger Miller album - I grew up with songs like "King of the Road" and "Engine, Engine Number Nine." I also want to hold on to a CD given to me by my favorite blues band, Mudcat - it has songs by the originals, and bring back fond memories. I am always on the lookout for compilation albums to remember certain eras from. I also love my Live albums - that band rocks!

(Note: At the moment, I listen to a lot less music. I have a tendency to listen to books on tape and on CD when I am in the car, and to have the television on when I am at home. Perhaps I need to fish out those CD's and compilation tapes I made in the past, and listen to them, instead!)

previous next
archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

hosted by DiaryLand.com

� Tiedyefor 2003